Short Film Friday #5 – Jedi Gym

Jedi Gym

Since we were busy filming all day Friday, I didn’t have the time to write a new post. I’m sorry about that. But to make up for it I’m going to share with you one of my absolute favourite short films. It’s a mockumentary-style comedy by the name Jedi Gym.

I also got in touch with one the creators of the film, Timothy Kendall, and he was kind enough to answer a few questions about the production. So here it is: Jedi Gym!

1. Can you give a short introduction of yourself?

Creators behind Jedi Gym are Timothy Kendall and Ben Koldyke. I (Timothy Kendall) direct television commercials for a living and when I’m not doing that, I make short films and webseries like this one. Ben Koldyke is an actor and writer.

2. Technical aspects: camera, lenses, editing software?

We shot on a Panasonic HVX200 and edited with Final Cut Pro. All visual effects were done with Photoshop and After Effects. The key was mixing live practical effects with digital. So you don’t just rely on post. That stuff is for Peter Jackson.

3. How much time did it take to produce this short?

It took us two weeks to get the script where we wanted it, one week to produce it and two and a half days to shoot it. I then went into an edit/vfx cave for another two weeks. So a little over a month to pull it off. I use the same teams as I do in commercials to do my little shorts so we’re pretty tight.

4. What was the budget?

Budget was under 3k. We had to rent costumes and some lights and feed everybody. The value came in getting a free location and finding people online who own their own Star Wars stuff and wanted to exercise. It’s a strange world we live in.

5. Where did the idea come from?

Idea came from reading an article in Wired magazine about NYJEDI.COM. Go check out the real Master Flynn.

6. What is your next project?

Next project? Since Jedi Gym I’ve done several. I currently co-produce and direct a webseries called “LA I.C.E.” about Immigration officers who aren’t after the South American population– they’re after Canadians. But actually just recently I finished a 3 min short that I’m very proud of that also has some Jedi themes. Check it out, it’s called JUST BEFORE DARK. If you liked Jedi Gym, you’ll LOVE this one.

7. Where does one sign up for the classes?

nyjedi.com

Legg att eit svar

